about this diary...

a) the name

Long story short, I chose 'xorbit' as my username because it's easy to spell and remember. The inspiration is the term XOR bit, which is a programming thing, and not everyone is into that, but if you want to read a technical explanation, you can do that here, or else google the term. I'm also fond of the word "orbit", and used to have 'orbital' as a username (some time ago, and not here).

b) the purpose

Most of the entries are fiction. You should be able to tell when they aren't. I used to write fairly prolifically but haven't been doing so the last 5-6 years and this annoys me, so I'm trying to get back into the habit. If all goes well I shall post at least one item per day, but this is probably not going to happen. If I can manage 3-4 posts a week I should be content with that. I might occasionally post things I wrote years ago (in which case I will say they are old). Note that the "she" entries aren't necessarily about the same character, although if the setting/theme is very similar, you can assume it is, if you wish :)

c) me

I don't want to tie myself down to a particular identity or persona or presentation - the writing, not my daily life, is the focus here. You will get some idea of what I'm about from reading my prose. Feel free to note me if you have questions, but I might decline to answer them, depending. The basics, however, are that I am female, Australian (living in Sydney), 30something, in a relationship, and likely to be online when I should be sleeping.

d) other

This entry has been "recycled". I decided to have a proper "about" page, so the ultimately meaningless drivel (non-fiction) that used to be in this entry has been erased. Don't worry, you didn't miss anything :)

And from the entry that used to be 013xor.html (which I will delete after I have resaved this one):

xorbit said to joistmonkey
(The youtube URLs are for a music video that ties in with the Die Hard films.)

jondavid2010 said to xorbit

I was aware, when I mentioned old usernames in my previous entry, that someone might ask what they were. Having read most of them, I have to say sorry, not ready to tell you yet - mainly because they were about my life and my life was a horrific mess in those days, and I don't want to bog myself down in that identity, even by association. I need to retrain myself to write something every day. This diary is not about my life... other than in the little ways in which my life will inevitably creep into my creations, but unless you already knew me reasonably well, I'm confident you wouldn't be able to pick out what was what. Of course, if I tell anyone what my old usernames are, that gives them a starting point. I want to avoid that for now.