2001 series 1 (part 3)

1.16 tunnel vision

She gets drunk a little too often.

She can see fine when she's drunk, do fine when she's drunk, in fact, takes that little extra care when she's drunk. (Because she knows (she is).)

She can see fine when she's drunk, but it's tunnel vision. Only what's right in front of her.

She goes out, one night, when she's drunk. (It was only two bottles of beer, but she hadn't eaten.)

She goes out one night when she's drunk. It's only up the road for bread and milk. But still.

She opens the door, goes to open the screen door.

She sees something, suddenly. Yelps.

Notices she sounds like her mother, startled.

"Stupid insect," she says to the spider larger than her hand, the hairy brown spider on the screen door which, if sober, would have her so terrified at the sight thereof that she'd scuttle back inside, mouselike, and stay there all night, quivering in the darkness, forgoing the coffee and toast she craves so much: anything, anything to avoid facing that spider in the dark.

But no, she's drunk, so she just says, "Stupid insect," under her breath, ignoring the voice in her head which reminds her it has too many legs for that.

Now then... I really thought I had more of series 1, but I can't find them anywhere. I have a vague idea that I started recoding them a while back, but if so, why aren't they in the same folder as the other ones? Series 2 is there, but not the rest of series 1. It's bad enough I mislaid three or four in the middle... Argh. I hate not knowing what I've done with stuff.